About Us

Welcome to the Portsmouth City Health Department

Our Mission is to prevent disease, promote optimal health and safety, bridge the gap of unmet health care needs, and respond to public health emergencies for the citizens of Portsmouth. We are a fully accredited, financially stable, professional organization committed to improving the health of our community.

We want to hear from you.
We continuously collect data to assess the health of our community.

Please help us serve you better by using our contact form below to let us know:

  • 1. Have you visited the Health Department within the past six months?
  • 2. What service did you receive?
  • 3.  How was your experience?

Our Vision Is For Our Community

Some of Our Programs...

Drug Free Communities Program

The Portsmouth City Health Department administers the Drug Free Communities (DFC) Support Program for Scioto County. The Drug-Free Communities Support Program is a Federal grant program that provides funding to community-based coalitions that organize to prevent youth substance use.

The Portsmouth Local Air Agency

The PLAA monitors the compliance status of the businesses and industries with air pollution sources in the four-county region (Adams, Scioto, Lawrence, Brown, and Highland).

Prevention and Health Promotion

Prevention and Health Promotion programs focus on keeping people healthy. Health Promotion engages and empowers individuals and communities to engage in healthy behaviors and make changes that can ultimately lead to a healthier, happier life.

Our Leadership

Chris Smith, RS, MS

Health Commissioner

Belinda Leslie, BSBA, PHR

HR, Accreditation Officer

Jared Koch, BSBA

Chief Financial Officer

Our Board Members

Mayor Kevin E. Johnson


George L. Davis III, ESQ.

Timothy Angel, PhD

President Pro Tempore

Angela J. Hodge, DNP, FNP

The Board of Health meets the Fourth Wednesday of each month at 6pm in the first floor Conference Room at the Health Department, 606 Washington Street.

David S. Walker, MD

Vice President

Jennifer Lemaster

Important Links and Documents